WEST OXFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of the Licensing Committee

Held in the Council Chamber at 2.30 pm on Wednesday, 24 May 2023

PRESENT

Councillors: Mathew Parkinson, David Jackson, David Melvin, Tim Sumner, Lysette Nicholls, Edward James, Jeff Haine, Jane Doughty, Mark Walker, Andrew Lyon and Sandra Simpson.

Officers: Giles Hughes (Chief Executive), Elizabeth Griffiths (Chief Finance Officer, Deputy Chief Executive and Section 151 Officer), Andrew Brown (Business Manager, Democratic Services and Interim Monitoring Officer), Jan Britton (Managing Director – Publica), Frank Wilson (Executive Finance Director – Publica), Max Thompson (Senior Democratic Services Officer), Anne Learmonth (Democratic Services Officer), Maria Harper (Democratic Services Assistant), Barry Clack (Communications Officer) and Michelle Ouzman (Democratic Services Officer).

Other Councillors in attendance: Nil.

9 Election of Chair

The Chair of the Council, Councillor Andrew Coles, opened the meeting.

Democratic Services relayed to Council the names of Members who had been appointed to the Council's Licensing Committee, who were:

Councillors:

- David Jackson;
- Mathew Parkinson;
- David Melvin:
- Tim Sumner:
- Lysette Nicholls;
- Edward James;
- Jeff Haine;
- Jane Doughty;
- Mark Walker;
- Andrew Lyon;
- Sandra Simpson.

The Chair of the Council, Councillor Andrew Coles, asked Council for nominations to the position of Chair of Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

Councillor Mathew Parkinson, proposed that Councillor Mark Walker be appointed to the position of Chair of Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024. This was seconded by Councillor David Jackson and was put to a vote. The vote carried.

Council **Resolved** to:

1. Appoint Councillor Mark Walker to the position of Chair of Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

Licensing Committee

24/May2023

10 Election of Vice Chair

The Chair of Licensing Committee, Councillor Mark Walker, asked Council for nominations to the position of Vice-Chair of Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

Councillor Mathew Parkinson, proposed that Councillor David Jackson be appointed to the position of Vice-Chair of Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024. This was seconded by Councillor Mark Walker and was put to a vote. The vote carried.

Council Resolved to:

1. Appoint Councillor David Jackson to the position of Vice-Chair of Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

II Apologies of Absence

There were no Apologies for Absence received from Members.

12 Appointment of Licensing Sub Committees

Democratic Services relayed to Council the name of Members who had been nominated to serve on the Miscellaneous Licensing Sub-Committee, who were:

Councillors:

- David Jackson;
- Mathew Parkinson;
- Edward James;
- Jeff Haine;
- Andrew Lyon.

The Chair of the Committee, Councillor Mark Walker, proposed that Council agree the appointments to the Miscellaneous Licensing Sub-Committee. This was seconded by Councillor David Jackson, was put to a vote, and was unanimously agreed by Council.

Council Resolved to:

- 1. Appoint the following Councillors the Miscellaneous Licensing Sub-Committee:
 - David Jackson;
 - Mathew Parkinson;
 - Edward James;
 - Jeff Haine;
 - Andrew Lyon.
- 2. Note that Licensing Panel membership will comprise the Chair or Vice Chair of the Licensing Committee and two other members of the Licensing Committee drawn on an alphabetical rota basis from the remaining members of the Licensing Committee (subject to their availability and completion of licensing training prior to participation in a Licensing Panel meeting), as detailed in paragraph 3.3.

The Meeting closed at 2.34 pm

<u>CHAIR</u>